Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author conclude here that Nature’s Way should prove to be very successful in the town of Plainville as it sells health food and product related to health. The author expectation is based on the fact that a chain of this Franchises used to be profitable in an area like Plainville where resident leads a healthy lifestyle. The argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion, the authors notes the classes are full with the interested members in health club, beside the health club the author also has mentioned about the high sale of exercise clothing and shoes for running. Beside these the author point out that the Plainville’s school children as the potential customer for the store, as the children are required to participate in a fitness for life program. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, in the argument the author readily believes on the report of the Plainville merchant, which declares the sale of the running shoes and clothing related to exercise are relative high. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. The sale might be high at present because the sale of the clothing are running on for stock clearance .The merchants reports has not mentioned that such a high sale runs whole the year. For example, in my country Nepal, the clothing stores open sale twice in a year for winter clearance and for summer clearance. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if the timing of the high sale was mentioned in the report of Plainville merchant.

Secondly, the argument readily points out that local health clubs has comparatively high members relatively. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate the numbers of health clubs in the town. The members are high, this is because such a local club is very limited in the area. Here in the arguments the author mentions about a single club. What about the other club? May be the author is elaborating on the only cheap health club with high members. If this is truewe can imagine the people living in such a town might be poor. And of course it is out of imagination that a poverty town might live a healthy life style which costs high rate. The people might have joined the health club because they have problem with their health and health club might be only the option for physical exercise. In such cases, how can someone say Plainville leads a healthy lifestyle? If the argument has provided clear data regarding the health club then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that Plainville’s school children represent the new potential customers as the schools have created the rule for the participation of the children in the fitness program. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions. To illustrate further, Will all the children will be interested to the fitness? What if the rule of the school changes with the change in administration? Without convincing answers to these question, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable first hand research on the Plainville town regarding their lifestyles. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information how and why the town of Plainville leads a healthy lifestyle.