A new study collected data that shows that people who snore are more likely to gain weight than are people who do not snore. It is well known that many people who snore also stop breathing frequently during the night for a few seconds, a condition called sleep apnea. The interruption of breathing wakes the person---often so briefly that the waking goes unnoticed---and can leave the person too tired during the day to exercise. Anyone who snores, therefore, should try to eat less than the average person and to exercise more.

The author of this argument claims that everyone, who snores, gains more weight than other, so that he should eat less. To support this recommendation the author cites the following fact. (1) These people usually wake up at midnight because of the stopping breath, and this cause they suffer of the lack of sleep (2) All day long, they are tired and cannot exercise, which affect to increase their weight. (3) All of these base on the research.

First and the most important reason is that the author provides no assurance that the survey on what the argument depends is statistically reliable. If the survey’s respondents are not representative of the overall population of people suffer of snooping, the author cannot generalize his conclusion to all people. In this matter, the survey gives not any information about the number of respondents or their occupational or resident profiles. The fewer respondents cause the less reliable results. In fact, it is entirely possible that the number of the respondents—in this matter— was too low to ensure that all people who sore surly have more weight than others.

Second, base on this fact that these people do not exercise in the day, the author infers that they are obese. Although common sense informs me that such a relationship exists, the author must provide some evidence of this cause-and-effect relationship before I can accept the author's final conclusion that their high weight is due to lack of physical activities. Eating high fat foods can put them at risk of obesity, and this cause can be more influential than exercise.

In the third place; this argument relies on the assumption that people who snore feel tired during the day because of the lack of sleep. However, it is likely the feeling tired due to other factors such as working more, financial problems, and so on. In fact, some people who participated in this survey had not been good economic conditions, so they had to work long time all day long. In this way, you never should expect that they could have enough time to exercise. Since the author has not identified of the main cause that why these people feel tired by logical evidence, I cannot convince people who snore, do not do not exercise, because they did not get sufficient sleep at night.

In sum, the speaker's advice for "any" snorer is ill-conceived and poorly supported. To lend credibility to this advice the speaker should provide clearly evidence that the recently collected data reflect the general population. To better assess the argument it would be useful to know all the possible causes of snoring and of sleep apnea.