"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental proces is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month, our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its stock by eleminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

While it may be true that the decreasing amount of stock available will increase the overall profit of the Movie Galore, the argument fails to make a cogent case for it. It is easy to understand the store doesn't want to increase their price in order to maintain its reputation for offering the movies at low prices, the argument about getting rid of the old movies is rife with holes and assumptions. It is less likely to persuade the reader.

The author is citing the results of the new policy implemented in the downtown Marston store. The store significantly decreased the stock of the old movies. As consequence of this step, it was able to increase the profit. However, the author has not specified why this step lead to an increament in profits. One must ask, to what extent, the store's location played a part here. If the other nine store are situated in localities that function differenly from the downtown Marston, the decrement in the old stock is less likely to work.

Building up on the implication of maintaining the low rates of the movies, the author argues that the this step will help the owner in maintaintg its reputations. However, the author has not mentioned prices of the other video rental operating in the area. The comparison between Movies Galore and other store will reveal that, by what amount on an average, the other stores are charging more. If the difference is significant, the Movies Galore owner can consider increasing the price such it remains lower than other stores and still boast of providing the movies at the lowest price.

Additionally, the author has used one month of data to conclude that the store in downtown Marston has increased its profit by getting rid of the old stock. It is not clear, however, that the amount of data collected is sufficient. There may be other facotors, such as summer vacation or more public holidays within the month would have led people to rent more movies, and temporary increase in the profit of the Movies Galore. One must ask, is the decrement of the stock was the only factor changed during this month? If no, impelneatation of the new policy is less likely to work.

The argument fails to reveal whether the decrement in the amount of stock was the only factor that increased the profit of the store in downstore. With added details such as the month of the year, exact prices, and nature of the locality is more likely to make the argument work.