Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

While it may be true that interview based method is more efficient to stude the child-rearing process of the island of Tertia, the author's argument doesn't make a cogent case to inplement this method on further research. It is easy to understand that some anthropoligsts are recommending to use the interview based method for future research, the argument presented here is rife with holes and assumptions, and the reader is less likely to be persuade by them.

Citing the results of Dr. Karps method, the author states that, during the interview, the children spent more time talking about thier biological parents than about other adults. It is not clear how this result implies that the other adults do not have any contribution to the child's upbringing. The children may be talking about only his biolgical parents as he or she is too young to remember having spent time with other adults. The author has assumed that the children were mature enough to recognise the adults apart form their parents.

Additionally, the Dr. Karps interview is based on the responses collected from the children. It is not clear, however, to which extent this responses are reliable. The children may have a very little idea if what the survey is all about and they may have given the response without fully inderstanding the question. The underlying assumption is that the children's responses are reliable to make conslusion about their upbringing process. Dr Karp has not considered to include the biological parents and oter adults in their study. This factor undermines the quality of the method used. For the surevey to be used to make appropriate conclusion, it must truly represent the population, valid and reliable.

Building up on the implication that the studies done by Dr. Karp and Dr. Field have a gap of 20 years between them. The authors is comparing the methods and results of studies that have several years of gap between them. During this interval, there may have been a drastic change in the island social structure. A significant number of people may have immigrated from the island or a significant number of people may have emmigrated to the island. This can bring about a noticable change in the societie's method to raise the children. The

A clear, concise understanding of the children-rearing process can indeed be helpful to understand the social structure. However, the arguments used here are less likely to back the conclusion of the study. The modified argument should try to address the points such as the validity of the children's responses, inclusion of the other adults in the study, and time interval between two studies.