In order to vote in school elections in Lowville, you need only be a citizen, have lived

in the district for 30 days, and be over the age of 18. Concerned that the turnout at

recent school elections has been quite low, with only about 20 percent of eligible

voters coming to the polls, school officials have discussed changing the regulations

to require that voters be registered with the board of elections, as they must be for a

general or municipal election. They posit that voters who are registered are already

committed to the electoral process and thus are more likely to come to the polls for

school elections as well.

In school elections in Lowville, the voting candidate has been quite low, wherefrom eligible candidates only 20% willing to vote and coming to the polls. Primarily the school has a regulation that in order to vote, the person must be 18 years old or more and has to be lived in the district for 30 days. In order to solve the shortage of voters, the school decides to lower down the regulation and making it the same as general or municipal election requirement. The school community expects voters who registered and already committed to the elections process are more likely to come to the school elections polls as well. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, two major questions must be answered.

First of all, does the standing candidate in the election a popular person? In another word, does the standing candidate has the capability to fight in the voting process? It might be possible the eligible people are not coming to vote, as they think the standing candidate is not popular or lacking valuable capabilities to became a candidate. Therefore people are not interested in voting at all. Therefore if the school makes the voting requirement as same as general or municipal election, still they could surprise with the lower result. For instance, in general, or municipal election, the candidate is very popular and people know he or she can do some incredible job. On the other hand, in school election the candidate is remarkably poor, therefore people are not interested to come to the poll for voting. If the above statement is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, what are the voting process liked by people? Nowadays people are very busy, it might be possible that people want to a online process rather came to the poll station. For example, most of the people are busy in 9 to 5 job and school voting time is in a weekday 10am to 4 pm. It might be possible that people in office have not had the chance to go to the poll station. Moreover, everything nowadays is going online. Therefore people in Lowville, might want also an online process for voting. Therefore changing the regulations to require that voters be registered, might not going to help to increase the voting number until or unless school makes the voting process online. If the above statement is true, the argument is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed due to these unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above-stated question with more evidence, then it might be possible to properly evaluate the argument.