"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above letter store owner concludes that the shoppers in the central plaza has decrease because the skateborders population has increased. However he fails to establish the relation between the ncrease in population of the skateborders and decrease in population of the shoppers. However, the conclusion drawn by the store owner contains unfounded assumptions that if substaintiated dramatically weakens the argument. Thus the following three questions need to be addressed.

Firstly, Was the decrease in business only because of the number of skateboarders?? I t may be possible that there is inflation going in the market which led to decreaser in population of the shoppers. It may also be possible that the they are getting same product at cheaper price near there vicinity. It may be also possile the store owners have some preudice with the skateboarders and want to eradicate them from the plaza. It may be also possible that the statment made about the decrease in business may be flawed as the store owner fail to produce any balance sheet.If either of the above scenario proves true then the assertion of the store owner is significantly hampered.

Secondly, Was the dramatic increase in litter and vandalism cause by skateboarders? It may be possible that there are many food stalls in the plaza who provide hand tissues and other wrapping papers which are thrown by the customers nearby stall premises which causes litter. It may be possible there are less number of police for the area and less number of security for the plaza whcih resulted in increase in vandalism instances. If either of the above scenario proves true then the assertion of the store owner does not hold water.

Lastly, is there any direct releation between the decrease in number of shoppers and increase in nuber of the skateboarders?? As the store owner fails to state the releation there are very less chances that after eradicating skateboarders the number of shoppers will increase. Also the shop owner fails to mention that there are any complaints received from the customers against the skateboarders. If either of the above proves true the credibility of the arguments increases.

In the conclusion while the number of shoppers has decrease, more data is required before the conclusion is reached. If the store owner answers the above three questons, it will be possible to fully evalute the validity of the argument