"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The problem in the argument is the naïve assumption that prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza will increase the number of shoppers in the plaza. There is no clear evidence as to why the number of shoppers in the plaza were decreasing.

It could be the case that new plazas could have been opened in the vicinity of Central Plaza, which could have attracted all the shoppers with artful sales and thus the shoppers in the Central plaza could have been reduced. There could have been a lack of renovation inside the plaza which has steadily reduced the inflow of shoppers.

There is no conclusive evidence provided by the writer that prohibiting skateboarders inside the premises of the plaza could ameliorate the number of shoppers. It could be that excessive littering and vandalism per se could have been the primary cause of the reduction of number of shoppers. Furthermore, most of the individual shops inside the plaza could have been closed for a long time, which further reduces the number of shoppers.

The writer states that over two years, the number of shoppers has declined steadily. Now, two years is a very long time. So, saying simply that the number of shoppers has decreased steadily doesn’t mean that the shoppers were actually decreased by a huge amount at the end of two years. For ex, if there were 10000 shoppers initially, and the amount steadily decreased to 9000 after two years doesn’t show a significant decrease in the number of shoppers. There are always people leaving and entering a city, change in buying habits of people, getting inured to online shopping, etc which could have decreased the number of shoppers.

If the city prohibits skateboarding and if the recommendations don’t show likely results, this will send a negative message to the skateboarders. Moreover, skateboarders who used to visit the plaza regularly would also refrain themselves from visiting the plaza further. The shops inside the plaza would suffer a huge loss and eventually the economy of the place would decline meteorically.