"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager of a television station concludes that, due to less weather and local new programs, this affected advertising contracts with them. Hence, this argument is true at first glance but the argument is full of gaps and loop holes. There is no evidence that support advertising contracts canceled directly connected with late-night news programs.

Firstly, the late-night news program is changed, they broadcast more national news and less weather and local news. In addition, viewers complained of station's coverage of weather and local news. Here, the business manager did not provided how many complaints they received. Moreover, complaints are concerned with coverage of weather and local news. Here, complainer also complaints for wrong weather reports. There may be complaints after changed schedule is same as before, the author not provided any information.

Secondly, local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program have canceled their contract. This may be true that advertising contract canceled due to TRP rating is decreased. Moreover, there may be advertisers could not get benefit from advertising. Also, the advertiser reaches their budget for advertising therefore, they canceled the contract.

In conclusion, the author did not provide any example that supports the argument. Hence, the author of this argument failed to convince. For support this argument, the author needs to consider all above points and support his/her argument by giving concrete evidence.