"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complains received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you describe what specific examples or evidence are needed to evaluate the argument and how those examples or evidences would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station is concerned about complaints that the channel has received from their viewers. In fact, in the last year, those were about local news and weather covered by the station. The manager also says the complaints came in the same time in which the TV has decided to allocate more space to national news during the late-hour news, reducing the local and weather ones; moreover, he says that local business that use to advertised during the channel's night shows have canceled their agreement with the TV.

From these observation, he suggests that they should restore the original time to both prevent other revenues to move away from them and also to attract more viewers to the program.

While it is undoubted that spectators of the night time show have complained, and that the concerns of the manager are therefore legit, the changes he suggests about the time are not necessarily giving the expected results. In fact, more evidences are needed to evaluate the problem he is presenting.

First of all, we are told that "viewers complained", but we don't actually know how many of them did. The business manager could suggest the market department to make a survey, for example via telephone, amongst the audience to check exactly how many people are watching their show, and what percentage of them are unsatisfied. It would be completely different is the sample of unhappy costumers were 80% or 10%. From the information given in the memorandum, we don't know.

The manager is also concerned about how to increase the audience for their programs. I don't agree with the solution he is suggesting, because it is not based upon any proven facts: we don't know, and apparently he does not either, if the new costumers could be interested in watch local news. Maybe a new launched program with horror movies could be more appealing to new costumers. He could check the program on air on more successful competitor channels to find out what they are transmitting, and take inspiration from them.

Secondly, he addresses the problem of local business stopping advertising during their show. Again, several evidence are needed to support the conclusion he draws.

There could be many reasons for locals to cancel their contracts. Still, a market survey could help solving the question: maybe the costs of the advertising have increased and local business cannot afford the pricey services, or, to be fair, they could have found more effective to put their products and services on local newspapers or billboards.

On the other hand, those local business have found out that the late hours in the evening or the night are not the most favorable time for advertise their products: a good example could be the new toys shop in XXX street ,normally the client interested in toys (aka children), is already asleep by that time.

In conclusion, based on the information the manager gives, I am not persuaded about the effectiveness of restoring original time slots in preventing revenues from canceled contracts and attracting more viewers. On the contrary, he could work on improving the channel visibility itself to attract new costumers, ask them what they would like to watch on late hours, and check the exact reasons for the decline of local business contracts.