he author of the argument states that in the future, the problem of non satisfying performance of teacher will become less important. State’s teachers will in fact be required to take specific courses in education and educational psychology in order to be certificated.

Despite the soundness of this argument, a closer inspection of the assumptions on which it is based are needed.

First of all, the “poor teaching performance” is an expression lacking of significance: in fact, we should first define what good performance stands for, and if teachers are the only direct responsibles for high or low performance. While the author seems to be sure that the responsibility is totally on educators, it could be also a situation related to misunderstanding from the student themselves. Imagine to have an exchange student in class, it would be totally understandable if the scores of a student from Spain in English grammar were not excellent, and thus lowering the average of the class. In this scenario, the poor performance wouldn’t depend 100% on the instructor.

Secondly, the author bases the argument that improving teachers’ preparation on education and educational psychology would improve the standard. While it is certainly positive to have better prepared individuals in such field, it is ignored that maybe the poor performance is related specifically to their inability to transmit and convey information about the specific topic they are teaching. Let’s say that the professor is try to explain some abstruse math concepts: is unworthy to say that maybe the all D grades of the students could be related to his/her inefficacy in getting the kids understand it properly, due maybe to a scarce preparation of the teacher himself in this specific topic. In this case, the suggestions about the new requirements are completely useless.

There are two other important facts the writer is omitting, and they are both about time. It is said that the problem afflicting the state’s teachers will decrease in future, but is not said how much time will it be required to get the improvement effective, therefore since the timing of the improvement is unspoken, one could define this idea utopic rather than effective.

Moreover, while future school professionals will seek for the required credits in order to get the certification, nothing is mentioned about those that are already in the system (and therefore are contributing to the poor performances). It would be important to address both the issues together in a perspective view of changing and improvement.

In conclusion, we have defined many assumption that are not wrong, but they are for sure incomplete or even naïve for some points. If those assumptions prove wrong, the performance not only would not increase, but the state economy would get hit back because of the many resources invested in this almost completely ineffective solution. In addition, I would definetly need more clarifications about standards requirments and student evaluation to be persuaded by the writer and his suggestions.