“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the memorandum mentions that "most of the complaints from viewers" were about the station's coverage of weather and local news, it would also be important to know the relative amount of praise and support that the news program has received as well. In the case that 90% of the viewers' feedback are positive and in support of the increased time to national news, the 10% of the negative feedback should be taken with a grain of salt. Despite the majority of the 10% of the complaints are about the decreased coverage of weather and news, the 90% of the feedback that supports it overweighs the complaints and supports the decision to increase coverage of national news.

The memorandum also mentions that local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the late-night news program. However, it does not mention the precise reasons as to why the local businesses have done so. Evidence that local businesses have canceled directly due to the increased coverage of national news would be pertinent and necessary to know before assuming that the cancellations are due to the decreased coverage of weather and local news. There may be reason to suspect that local businesses are canceling contracts simply for the late time slot that the news program is in, or it could be for a variety of reasons that are unknown to us at the time. Therefore, if the news program can produce direct evidence that ties the cancellation of contracts from local businesses as a result of the increased coverage of national news, then that would support the memorandum to restore coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, while local businesses may have canceled their advertising contracts, a look into the number of advertising contracts with national businesses should be taken into consideration. While local businesses may be canceling, it is possible that there is an increase in advertising contracts with national businesses that balance out the loss in revenue; or perhaps exceeds the loss and is providing profit. If this is the case, then the fact that local businesses are canceling their contracts is not a strong enough reason to return to increased coverage of weather.

There is also an assumption that the program needs to attract more viewers, but there was no evidence that was presented that supported the claim that viewership has declined. A timeline comparison of when the news program began to increase time to national news and also when and if the number of viewers declined would indicate whether there is correlation between the two changes. However, correlation does not necessarily mean causation, so it would be important to take into consideration any other changes that the news program possibly encountered during this time.