Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

In the passage, the author maintains that because diets that emulate the diets of human ancestors have been proven to have many health benefits, ancient humans had knowledge about human physiology that present-day humans do not and emulating these early human diets can cure chronic illnesses. However, the author relies on multiple assumptions to validate their argument.

First, the author states that many proponents of Paleo diets especially praise consuming bone broth because they believe it is rich in cartilage and chondroitin, however, they do not provide evidence to support that bone broth has more cartilage and chondroitin than modern foods consisting of similar ingredients. Thus, the author assumes that modern foods do not have the stated health benefits of a paleo diet and uses this assumption to fuel the claim that ancient humans had knowledge of human physiology that has not been discovered by present-day humans.

Furthermore, the argument that human ancestors had knowledge about human physiology and these health benefits also relies upon the assumption that human ancestors readily consumed bone broth for its specific physiological benefits which the author does not provide. Thus, the author is unable to support the argument that the human ancestors' knowledge of human physiology is what drove their dietary habits and thus, have superior knowledge of physiology to present-day humans.

Moreover, the author states that there is anecdotal evidence that there are fewer occurrences of metabolic and inflammatory diseases in people who consume bone broth. However, the author does not state a sample size or a method of study for this anecdotal evidence and thus, it cannot be considered as reliable information. In addition, the author states this evidence as a rebuttal to the claim that ingested cartilage and chondroitin does not benefit human joints or brains. However, the author makes a faulty comparison as they compare the occurrences of metabolic and inflammatory diseases to joint and brain health. Moreover, this anecdotal evidence assumes bone broth was directly responsible for lower rates of metabolic and inflammatory diseases— without being able to pinpoint bone broth as the causative agent— the author's argument is not supported.

In essence, the author of the passage makes the claim that Paleo diets are the key to curing chronic illnesses because ancient humans had knowledge about human physiology that present-day humans do not have. In making this argument, however, the author assumes that human ancestors readily consumed certain foods, such as bone broth, with the knowledge of its benefits on human bodies. Furthermore, the author makes faulty comparisons and provides evidence that cannot be clearly substantiated. Thus, we cannot completely accept the implications of this passage based on the information provided.