Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

While paleo diet might have been a widely consumed and appropriate diet for our ancestors, it might not be the right diet for consumption for us today. The reasonings and assumptions made by the author of this passage is rife with holes.

The author states that the proponents of this diet claim that the body has evolved to have such a diet. If that is the case, we are anything but the same as what our ancestors were. That makes our body to be in a totally different state as there has been centuries of other dietary habits followed that might have altered what we as humans can and can not take in.

Nowadays time is of the essence. Not everyone has the luxury let alone the patience to cook a broth for several hours. Such a meal would be more cumbersome than helpful. There are other options for one’s diet and faster to consume and are scientifically proven to healthy.

One can only conclude if a particular dietary habit is helpful by conducting detailed scientific experimentation. One where there are a variety of test subjects are of a wide spectrum of the population. The validity of such a diet cannot just be anecdotal evidence.

One major point the author of this passage overlooks is the lifestyle of people from that era compared to us. It is known that the way hominids lived was much more active and demanding on the body. Not just that lot of the diseases and medical complications we face today were never there in those times. It is fundamentally wrong to overlook such a crucial aspect when talking about one’s health and the effect diets have on it.

Adoption of such a diet might have helped a few people but to generalize that it is an effective one us today is far-fetched. There are other proven dietary options that can be followed for the current states of our bodies and ideally suited to our lifestyles