Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is flawed due to numerous reasons. Primarily, the given argument is based only on the anecdotal evidence which suggests that following a diet which consists of bone broth lead to lower metabolic and inflammatory diseases. There is no actual medical evidence which indicates the same, leaving the argument invalid.

Argument fails to provide any justification about the similarities between lifestyles followed by people during ancient and current times. Health of an individual is dependent on a wide range of factors and not just the diet. For all we know, ancient humans might be leading extremely active lifestyles on a much cleaner and pollution free earth, causing them to be less susceptible to such diseases. Had the argument pointed out living conditions and lifestyles of human ancestors, even then the argument does not provide any evidence that ancient humans were not affected by such diseases.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. There is no evidence suggesting that ancient humans did not suffer from any chronic illnesses. It could be possible that people might be suffering from such diseases, but due to lack of medical knowledge in ancient times, there are no records about it.

Finally, as suggested in the argument itself, the ingested cartilage or chrondroitin cannot strengthen these components which are already present in our body. So, there is no suggestive evidence as to exactly why eating bone broth is useful.

Because the argument makes many unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a connvincing case that following a paleo diet can cure many chronic illnesses.