"For the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High has won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. Schade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system."

In this letter, a writer recommends that to success in regional band competitions, the Saluda school board should follow to hire Mr. Schade for planning and directing the general music education programs. To support this recommendation, the steel city high school adopted a similar plan for five years, and during that time this high school band has won three regional competitions. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on some premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that the steel city high school success because of Mr. Schade. However, there is no evidence to prove that this happen. For instance, maybe the government pays more attention to a cultural than before, so elucidating more budgets to high school for cultural activities such as music. Alternatively, perhaps students of steel city school are adroit in music, or they are played some music instrument before entering the high school, therefore leads to better results in competitions.

Another problem is that the writer assumes that the both of high school are identical in all aspects. Maybe the Saluda high school does not enough budgets to hire a new teacher for music education. Alternatively, perhaps ability and talent of students in the Saluda school are less than students of Steel City school, hence hiring Mr. Schade is not lead to better result.

The third problem is that the writer assumes that things remain same in all over years. Maybe students of Saluda school are more dexterity to take part in national competitions. Hence, Mr. Schade is not the able to preparation students for high-level competitions, so the Saluda school necessaries a teacher with a better resume. The argument has been shown an attempt of Mr. Schade only in the regional competition.