One recent research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. As a way of combating these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., and end the school day an hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently, the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly

In this letter, the writer recommends that to enhance academic performance, the high schools of the city must start operating an hour later than usual and close one hour later to allow students to sleep an hour more in the morning and be more productive. To support this recommendation, a clue from the recent study which shows that adolescents need more sleep than they are getting. Moreover, students are dissatisfied with their own performance. With more sleep and sufficient rest are bound to perform better. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on some premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer refers to a study but does not indicate how many people took part in the study. As you know, in research studies the greater the number of individuals is more reliable and accurate. Maybe in this study, only ten people participated; hence, the findings are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that enough people participated in the sample, there is still another problem with the sample. In a research study, the findings can be generalized to the target population in terms age, sex, social class, cultural and so forth; however, in this argument there is no evidence to show whether used to the target population.

Secondly, it would be incorrect to relate the lack of sleep amongst adolescents with their academic performance. There could be other reasons that led to a diminished academic performance of these students. It is possible that they are guided in the correct direction by their teachers. It is also possible that instead of devoting time to studies they have been engaged in other activities like sports, inter-school competitions and so forth. It is then evident that the reason behind their slacked academic performance is other than just lack of sleep.

Another problem is that if the students need more time to sleep, delaying the opening time of school is not the solution. It needs to be seen why adolescents are not getting enough sleep. It is likely that adolescents are sleeping late because of other engagements. They could be attending gatherings, parties or late night clubs. They could also be watching late night movies and television, or working on the computer. In order be fresh and active in the morning they must practice sleeping early the night before. The schools need not change their time due to some late sleepers, but the students should change their routine and adjust to sleeping soon.