A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

After the testing of samples from the recalled food, the pet food company concludes that the recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms, such as vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness, observed in pets, which consumed the food and the company should not devote further resource to the investigation. The company cites that, according to the test results, all chemicals found in food are approved for use in pet food. I find the company's argument logically not convincing for various reasons.

Firstly, the company assumes that any approved chemical cannot lead to any kind of side effect, such as vomiting or lethargy. One could argue that it is equally possible that some approved chemical can lead to a side effect. Hence it is presumptuous to conclude that the recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms on the basis that all chemicals found in food were chemicals that

Secondly, Even if we assume that the company's assumption that any approved chemical cannot lead to any kind of side effect is true, then also it is possible that the mixture of two chemicals, which approved for use in pet food, can lead to symptoms, such as vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. And in such case, the company's conclusion will be wrong.

In sum, The company's argument is not a strong argument and is very defensive in nature. The company must provide the support for the assumption that any approved chemical cannot lead to any kind of side effect.