A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author contends that the pet food that was accused of causing vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness to pets was vindicated by the research. Given that the research proved that the pet food did not contain any chemicals that are not approved for use in pet food, the company that sells the specific pet food is not responsible for the symptoms and will not investigate the issue further. While at first glance the arguments seems to have some merit, further inspection reveals some assumptions that need attention.

The first assumption that the author makes is that the company is not responsible since the tests proved the approved use of chemicals. It strikes me that the company might still be responsible if the food was kept in conditions, such as extreme heat, that alter the chemicals' form and their implications to the animals' organism. I would be more convinced if the author included data about the conditions in which the food was kept and the extend to which these chemicals react when the normal conditions are not guaranteed.

The author also assumes that the chemicals that are approved for use in pet food do not precipitate unwanted symptoms. Common sense informs me that chemicals, even if approved, might react with other chemicals contained in food that a pet consumes. Therefore, the author could cite information about tests that examine the reactions of chemicals contained in the pet food of the company with other chemicals contained in various pet food to eliminate any concerns about the interaction of chemicals.

Lastly, although the author's argument is based on the results from a test, details of the test are not included. A case in point would be the statistics of the test and the number of the sample. It could be possible for a chemical that is not approved for pet food to be detected in a very small amount that the researchers evaluated as insignificant. However, this piece of information should have been carefully examined since it could by itself disqualify the whole argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unsubstantiated. The author assumes that the tests are reliable even thought no data are included regarding the statistics of the tests and the chemicals' behavior in various conditions and in combination with other pet food chemicals.