A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The author of this argument fails to provide explanation for a myraid of deductions. Firstly, the chemicals, although, are approved to be used in pet food could have been wrongly approbated, some chemical might not have been tested rigoursly and due to lack of proper experimentation the dog fod has become toxic. Secondly, assuming that the chemicals used in pet food are correctly approved, still the author needs to conduct further investigation because the packaging and storing of dog food could be an issue which is the causing the approbated chemicals although not pernicious when sequestered but reacting with the external conditions becomes toxic for dogs. Thirdly, the role of investigation is to reach a correct conclusion, hence the author fails to logically understand the situation.

Humans are prone to error that's why we have experimentation and hypothesis testing in order to increase the degree of confidence with which we can claim a fact. the approving authorities may have been negligent in their duties therefore the recalled food indeed becomes responsible for the illness in dogs. The author fails to provide any evidence to prove the contrary case hence the invesigation should not be stopped. Although, if author did provide some evidence it would definately strengthen his/her position but still more evidence would be required to confirm the fact that the pet food is not resonsible for illness.

The recalled food as mentioned in the introduction could also be pernicious, not due to the harmful chemicals but due to the external milieu factors like packaging and storing. Generally, the way we store and package food is partly the reason for the plummeting in the quality of food and the recalled food may have been suffering similar fate. Further, the reputation of the company is still in jeopardy so the company has the duty of finding the correct cause so that such a casuality may never occur in the future. If the author adds something along the lines of rigorous testing was performed and indeed external factors not seem to be the cause of toxicity the conclusion would gain a little bit strength to the conclusion which is currently seeming implausible.

To conclude, as the author fails to account for numerous inconsistencies in the deductions, the conclusion seems unwarranted. Further addition of facts would strengthen the conclusion partly but the argument is still won't become irrefutable, hence the conclusion is perhaps lacking.