A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

__________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that pet food is not responsible for the symptoms, and that the company should not devote further resources to the investigation of the same because even though pets that have consumed the food have shown effects such as vomiting, lethargy, etc., the company's analysis of the tested samples state that the ingredients used in the pet food are all approved chemicals for consumption and that it should be of any problem to the consumers. There are three questions that should be taken into consideration before completely agreeing with the conclusion.

Firstly, even though the chemicals are accepted for consumption, is it safe to assume that the combination of these chemicals is safe too? It might happen that chemicals when considered to be separate entities are safe, but the same chemicals when undergoing a chemical reaction with each other can often create a dangerous product. The same could be the same with the pet food. It should be thoroughly examined if this is the case. If so, then it is dangerous for pets to consume this food. Vomiting, lethargy might be the mere symptoms that could lead to a more dangerous illness.

Secondly, Do the chemicals added to the food cause any side effects? Even though genuine chemicals have been used in pet food, it can happen sometimes that these chemicals could cause genuine side effects for pets, at least few if not for all. There can also be cases that, these chemicals have slightly different behavior when coming in contact with pets having a particular hormonal proportion. The analysis for these results, if not already presented should be thoroughly drafted and submitted before concluding the argument.

Thirdly, Is proper testing of the samples done to conclude the argument? As mentioned in the argument above, it is assumed that having approved chemicals in the food should be enough for testing the food, but instead, there is be more meticulous testing where every scenario and aspect should be taken into consideration. There should always be more to testing apart from its chemicals. Different chemicals can cause different reactions when exposed. Temperature, moisture, pressure could be some of the examples that could manipulate the chemical formation to result in a harmful substance. If these tests fail, then the conclusion stated above would be invalid.

The above questions should be responded to before coming to a conclusion regarding the arguments. A proper analysis and documentation, perhaps along with the statistics and numbers should be stated in order to come to a conclusion. This would help us understand the internal behavior of the chemicals involved in the process which would guide us to a proper root cause for the problem.