A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The pet food company had been accused of the selling the unsuitable formulated food items for the pet recently as mentioned by the author of the argument. But a cogent case to support this is missing as various illness such as vomiting, lethargy etc. might happen due to other reasons also not entirely only by the food items. Hence, this argument is full of assumption and not bold enough to prove the food as the reason behind the illness.

Firstly, we do not know from whom exactly the complaints are being made. As these complaints might be from those people who want to destroy the company reputation and penetrate the market in order to bolster their own food items and market. By doing so the original value of the industry might get low eventually facing loss.so, unless the complaints made by the people are made sure that it is from authentic consumers, argument can not be backed.

Secondly, the author implies that these food has caused vomiting and other health related problems in the house animals. however, the reason behind illness could be other reasons such as lack of proper care and housing for them . The pet owner might not have been able to provide a good environment for these breed specific animals to accommodated the condition. As a result, there is also a high possibility of getting affected by the diseases and flu which ultimately might be the reason for the ill health. so, again this proves the failure of the argument.

Finally, the reason behind the sickness could also be from the food that have been provided other than the companies food. Home made food that might be stall or even the waste food might also came in contact with animals. Water source might also could be polluted that might have triggered the illness. In summary the given argument falls short in many aspects. the argument advocates for the guilty of pet food company for providing wrongly composed food that might had triggered whole scenario of illness, however it is not significant enough.