"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

The main idea to reduce the number of absenteeism is to have good enough fish meals that is healthy and nutritious enough to cure the colds. The author has mentioned the reason for the low number of workers and students in the offices and schools is the cold flu. But this argument is rife with assumption only and have not provide any example or data to support.

Firstly, the argument doesn’t significantly provide any data to elucidate the efficacy of use of fish as a cure to the common cold. There has also no any research or experiments on these cold and fish meal related topic. There might be a strong positive relationship between the fish and nutritional benefits to humane but the explicit relation to cure the cold is not yet been provided or found. Therefore, not bold enough to conclude the assumption made by the author.

Secondly, arguer goes on to say that there is a significant low number of visitor to the doctors for cold treatment in East Meria where the consumption of fish is relatively high but again there is no any relevant source to prove that cold can be cured from the fish consumption. The few visit to the doctors can be due to high cost of cure and treatment in the clinics and hospitals that unable people cannot afford. So, this doesn’t prove eating substantial amount of fish can cure cold and hence to strengthen this writer must provide specific and appropriated examples along with various data.

Thirdly, author suggest that there will be rise in the attendance of workers and students in their respective organization since he claimed that eating fish is the way to cure cold. However, people might be getting leave or being absent due to colds as an easiest excuse beside having other reasons; as cold is directly related to health and sure way to get leave. There might be emergence of other reason for being absent such as fever, diahorrea, viral flu etc. So, there is no any guarantee that the attendance record will improve.

In summary, the given argument falls short in many aspects. The argument advocates for the low doctor visit and improve in attendance by eating fish but is not significant enough to prove it as various lacuna are present everywhere in it. To prove it there must be sufficient data and experiment and hence at last it can’t be recommended that fish source as a daily nutritional supply is a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism.