A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

While it may be true that the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, the conclusion which is drawn to stop the investigation might not be correct. The pet food company has indeed got many complaints, regarding pets experiencing vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness after consumption of their product, so it is the companies responsibility to investigate and provide an explanation.

The author hear states that the company tested samples from the recalled food and all chemicals used in it, were approved for pet use. But maybe, the chemicals which are used in the product are not completely independent of side effects. Maybe, before feeding the pet food, the owners, fed them with some product, which can react with the chemicals present in the pet food consumed later and cause the illness. The company should carry a deeper investigation and provide the customers with answers if they want to maintain their reputation in the market and be morally correct.

Also, if without carrying further investigation, the company resends the recalled pounds of pet food in the market, it might lead to more pets getting sick and thus result in more number of complaints. Thus, after a thorough and deep investigation only, the product should be relaunched in the market.