The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Various kinds of factors result in traffic accidents, and in different places the reasons for such accident are diverse. But in the letter the author advocates the limitations of the number of moped on Balmer Island, which people believe will reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, just as the neighboring island of Torseau did, where the moped accidents had a 50 percent reduction last year. Based on the arguments offered, the expected result seems to hardly be achieved, since the assumptions on which the arguments rest are problematic.

One assumption is that the growth of population during the summer months definitely brings about the accidents of moped on Balmer Island. Honestly, the overpopulation may produce some traffic problems, nevertheless this may not be the main factor in moped accidents. If people all drive moped safely and orderly, traffic accidents will not rise. On the other hand, the majority of people take public transportation like bus, which perhaps is more convenient and cheaper, so traffic problems on Balmer Island may be the same as before. After all, economy and safety are the top priority people travel. Moreover, the population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. How much are two folds on earth? Ten or twenty? If the figure starts from a low base, the restriction may be dispensable. Make sure that the correlation between the change of population and mope accidents on Balmer Island, or the reduction of mope accidents will not be true even if the authority enforces the restriction.

Another implicit assumption is that reducing the number of mopeds, from the maximum number of 50 per day to 30 per day of each of six moped rental companies, certainly decreases the number of moped accidents on Balmer Island. There is a big question——the fewer mopeds, the fewer moped accidents? Will thirty per day for each rental company ensure the relative number of moped accidents? If moped drivers recklessly run on the roads, moped accidents will still occur or increase no matter how many mopeds. Perhaps local people instead of outsiders drive their own mopeds regardless of traffic rules, leading to the serious moped accidents. Restriction on moped rentals will be useless to reduce the number of moped accidents.

Additionally, The town council of Balmer Island should decrease the number of moped rentals at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies. Will these enterprisers agree to the government's practice without any complaint? Obviously, it is impossible. They may well fully take advantage of the summer holidays(the golden times for them) to develop their business, not lose such opportunity. These rental companies will violently oppose the policy, not only because of the development of business, but because of the unwarranted charge: the number of moped rented does not decide that of moped accidents. It is necessary to analyze the negative influence of such limitation on relative industries like rental companies.

Finally, the author introduces the neighboring island of Torseau as a role model, where the moped accidents reduced 50 percent last year after implementing similar limits on moped rentals. Are both places comparable? Often the same policy may produce varied effects on different districts in view of divergent conditions. Provided that traffic conditions and facilities on Balmer Island are far superior to that of Torseau, the number of moped accidents on Balmer Island will hardly decline even if the authority puts the policy of limiting the number of moped rented into practice, because other factors like the inclement weather of cyclone is the key to cause the accidents in summer. Ensure whether both places have the same situations before introducing a role model.

In a nutshell, the information offered is insufficient to uphold the predicted result of limiting the number of moped rented, which may produce unexpected negative influence on the economic development of Balmer Island.