Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

What is the surest indicator representing a great nation? The welfare of all its people, not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists? As far as I'm concerned, I disagree the statement that it uses the superlative degree of both indicators to measure a great nation. Either is difficult to answer this question. And it is too narrow to use these two indicators to understand the greatness of a state, but should analyze from more various perspectives.

First of all, it is indeed an important indicator to measure a great nation from the welfare of all its people----health, comfort, happiness. Any country should regard the welfare of its people as its primary assignment. There are three major reasons. Firstly, the stability of a nation comes from its satisfaction of all of its people, such as the necessities of life, the medication and prevention of diseases, the good education, the safety, fairness, equality. Secondly, the public is the cornerstone of the growth of a nation's wealth. No one can deny that the development of a nation doesn't base on its citizens' hard work, on their wisdom and industriousness. Thirdly, the goal of a nation is to help its people seek for freedom, equality and fairness. If no nation were not concerned about the general welfare of its people, anarchy, chaos, criminality would spread to all the country, not to mention its greatness. According to the World Happiness Index in 2016, Denmark, Switzerland, Iceland, Sweden, Norway are the countries of the highest happiness index, which supply their people with high income, free compulsory education, good medical services, and high benefits. How happy people live in such countries.

However, one cannot forget that the good welfare of a nation can hardly do without the achievements of its rulers, artists, and scientists. It is well known that rulers with fairness and justice can efficiently coordinate the resources allocation and solve the conflict among members of a society, that artists with different fields provide people with mental pleasure and comfort, and inspiration, that scientists create the amenities of daily life and bring people into deeply understanding the nature of human beings and exploring the mystery of the cosmos. Who would solve such problems as financial crisis that seriously damage the benefits of ordinary people, as natural disasters that destroy millions of people's homes, as life in difficulty and danger that may kill a man, if there were no achievements of rulers, artists, and scientists. How important the achievements of rulers, artists and scientists play a key role in a great nation.

Of course, don't leave the devotion of the public in a nation out, who remain obscure but also play the same significance as the elites like rulers, scientists do. The grass root employees from diverse industries toil for the growth of wealth of enterprises and a nation. For instance, peasants produce food, workers manufacture industrial products, construction workers build offices and apartments, technicians solve practical technical problems, angels in white take care of our health, and so on. How inseparable the jobs of these men are the part of a great nation.

Last but not least, a nation not only devotes itself to its citizens' welfare, but help other countries improve their backward situations, isn't such country great? For example, America supply all kinds of assistance for African people, such as training leaders, transferring high-tech, financial aid, and so on. In modern days, the development of any country to some degree benefits from the diffusion of international knowledge, technology and capital. Most importantly, scientists in various countries in the world contribute their creation and invention to the well-being of the humans. Isn't these countries great?

In conclusion, it is not adequate to use the superlative indicator to measure the greatness of a nation, which can be represented by multiple reference index from different sides. Each country in the world may have its great aspect, the speech right of which lies in man using what standard to judge.