Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Do the achievements of the eminent people represent the great nation? Probably, in general it is telling factor, but to say the truth, the welfare of all its people is more convincing indicator.

Achievements of the nation’s prominent people can be indicator of their willpower, hardworking and numerous personal advantages. Let’s remember Michail Lomonosov, outstanding Russian scientist and writer, who came to Moscow from small Archangelsk country by barefoot to study. At that time, he could not get higher education so he had to forge documents for entering Slavic Greek Latin Academy. How many people were in Russia that had talents but no opportunities because of their origin? Consequently, it can be stated that open and accessible education is one of the important points in welfare of great nation.

Polity always consists not only from “regular” people but also from power which is often represented by several branches. Obviously that the main aim of this puissant people is to found and create the conditions and possibilities to make nation flourish. It can be free education, as it was mentioned in previous paragraph, health care, high level of wages, material supplements for mothers, etc. The better social conditions are demanded if we want to do our best.

The USSR was a great place for scientists and furthermore the career of a scientist was elite and reverent. But time is changing and now all we can see is deserted institutes of Russian Academy of Sciences. Unsurprisingly that people prefer routine work to creative one because of stability. There are a lot of factors for a such disgusting situation but the absence of financial guarantees is one of the key reasons. And many of those people who wanted a scientific career left abroad for a better life.

To sum up the above, it is necessary to evaluate the welfare of the whole nation not only achievements of its outstanding persons. Probably, there are much more potential writers, compositors and other outstanding people around us than we can imagine but some external factors impede their prolific creativeness.