Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Along history, many nations have developed their economies through different ways. Some of them have been successful in improving the overall welfare of its people, while others have had only a few people who were able to achieve important goals. Although that there could be many indicators by which we can measure if a nation is great or not, I believe that is more important to put in first place the general welfare of the entire population rather than just a few successful individuals. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim and its reason for two causes.

To begin, the most important thing that a nation should pursue is the general wefare of its people. It does not matter if a country does not have a lot of successful artist or scientists. For instance, take the case of Argentina. This country was at the top ten in the raking of income per capita at the begging of the 20th century. However, after the Second World War, it changed its polical economy at ended being at medium income country, with 30% of its population living under the poverty line. But, along its history there are a lot of important characters such as the novel price Adolfo Esquivel or the best football player ever, Diego Maradona. They are indeed really successful people but they couldn't enhace the entire welfare of Argentinian population. This example shows that a country can have great scientists or many others successfull people and still being a poor nation.

In addition, if a nation pursue the general welfare of its people, it can also get many rulers, artist or scientists with great achivements. That is to say, a country can have both, a general wefare for its people and successful individuals as well. A good example of this is the United States. This nation has many successful people, most of them have won the nobel price, and others have created wonderful objects, such as the Windows, developed by Bill Gates, or the Iphone, developed by Steve Jobs. Moreover, the people of this country enjoy a climate of freedom and progress which let them the possibility of getting out of the poverty really fast. The income per capita of USA is four times bigger that the Argentina's and it also have more successful individual than the latter. Therefore, a great country can have successful individuals even when they put in first place its general welfare.

To conclude, some people could say the the most important thing for a country to be considered as a great nation is to have successful individuals with great achivements. However, this is not a guarrantee of a general welfare. Many countries have successful individuals with most of their people live in poor conditions. Consequently, I believe that the surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists but the general welfare of all its people.