Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The term "great" carries lots of meaning. It's definition changes according to the context. To be a great nation, undoubtedly it is crucial that the people should be in a good welfare. But can any nation be successful to make their all people happy and well-being? Moreover, the achievement of it's rulers, scientists or artists also play a significant role in the welfare of the people.

Without the welfare of the people, the concept of "great-nation" cannot be imagined. The greatness of any country surely depends upon the status and well-being of their people. Some nation which might not hold a strong position in terms of economy and modernization, however, be a great nation for their people because of their safety, well-being and peace which are well preserved by the nation. The best example for this instance is Bhutan- nation which gives more importance to the well-being of the people even they measured their progress not directly in terms of gross domestic product but from the level of satisfaction on their people. This effort by Bhutan, tries to ensure more on well-being and welfare of people. Even there is no such remarkable efforts made by their rulers, scientists or artists in the global arena, but they constantly focus on safety, satisfaction and well-being of the people.

However, in most cases, achievement of rulers, artists or scientists are mainly targeted to bring welfare in the people ultimately. They directly or indirectly aim to bring ease, peace and safety in the life of people. For example; The great effort by Abraham Lincoln in his era to ameliorate the civil war within the America ultimately aided to bring development and well-being in the people's lives. He had devoted to all of his life for the happiness and democracy of the people due to which, he is valorized all over the world.

Additionally, the indication of the greatness of the country cannot be all people since it is just a ideal thought to bring welfare to all people. Our society is not just accompanied by the good people. Always there are some people, who try to deviate from the established norms and values, do some hideous culprit. To develop the nation, such criminal should be penalized strictly. For example; in the most developed country like USA also, there are lots of cases of severe crimes like rape, theft, murder , etc in which besides strictly sentencing the culprit there is no any option. So, if greatness of measured, taking their views and welfare, it cannot be a good way of measurement.

To conclude, to measure the greatness of any nation, just relying on one type of measurement cannot be the best option for all scenarios. Greatness of nation, can be measured both by the achievement of the people along with the welfare of the people.