The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men.Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the president and administrative staff from grove college states that it is better to maintain their tradition of all-female education. To bolster this, they cite that the result of the survey conducted among students and alumnae showing that most of them oppose coeducation. however, the argument is tenuous in several aspects.

it is mentioned in the argument that eighty percent of the students who responded to the survey show that they oppose to have coeducation. however, one might ask that are the students who answered the survey representative enough for all students at grove college? it is possible that the survey only included the students from the department who are studying or used to study about feminist. thus, those students might have a biased opinion about coeducation. another question might be that in what way was the survey carry out? it is also possible that the survey was distributed using email, and generally, many students will ignore such online questionnaire. Maybe only 100 students responded while there is a total of 9000 students in the school. Therefore, no conclusion should be made before addressing the possible questions listed above.

What’s more, it states that another research showed that over half of the alumnae who answered are insisting on all-female education. Nevertheless, it is possible that those alumnae do not support the coeducation for private reasons. if grove college starts accept students from both gender, expenses will certainly increase, which might include build a new dormitory and the school will ask those alumnae for providing some funds. since the money required to support more students will not be a small amount and it will also be hard for those alumnae to refuse to help, they decide to vote against coeducation so that they can save money. it is also possible that the children of those alumnae who answered the survey are all female. In order to make sure that their children can get into grove college without facing an increased competitiveness if school become coeducational, they prefer the traditional form of education.

In the statement, the school states that by remaining their single gender education, they are able to improve morale among students and to convince alumnae to keep provide financial support for the college. however, how can we know coeducation will not increase the morale even more? it is possible that study will become more efficient when female and male students study together since male students might have stronger ability in solving math problems. Furthermore, how can we know the alumnae who did not respond to the survey will no longer support the college financially after the change in education form? it is possible that they are more willing to provide funds for school after the reform. Perhaps some of them encountered some obstacle when communicating or cooperating with male in workplace after they graduated from the college, and had always wish the school could change to coeducation. thus, a more deep and through research should be made before coming to the conclusion that all-female education is more suitable.

In sum, the statement is logically flawed and the evidences used to support is are also unjustifiable.