A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given statements, the author has tried to show a relationship about level of cortisol between firstborn human infants and firstborn monkeys. The author tell about the experiment on eighteen rhesus monkeys and shows the observations of that experiment. The experiment checks the levels of coristol in monkeys and observes that in stimulating situations, firstborn monkeys produces up to twice as much of cortisol than their younger siblings. Also there is a observation is firstborn humans also have high cortisol than their siblings. But the observations and assumptions given in statements are not satisfactory to conclude the relationship of high cortisol between firstborn humans and monkeys.

Beginning with, the experiment on eighteen monkeys there is no specified details about the monkeys. Eighteen is very small number to make conclusion for all monkeys. It may be possible that the result for eighteen monkeys may not be correct for another monkeys. There is also not mentioned about the age and sex of the monkeys. May be some monkeys are male, some are female. How can we conclude by using these limited number of monkeys and also without their specific details?

There is also another flaw in the statements about firstborn monkeys. But there is not mentioned about howmany monkeys out of eighteen are firstborn mnokeys. There is also an observation about the stimulation situations of monkeys. But there may be several stimulating situations possible in monkeys. There is n mention about the particular stimulating situation. How can we conclude about that? The firstborn infant monkeys have high cortisol than their younger siblings which is proved by experiment. But the experiment is only about eighteen monkeys. It may be possible that out of these eighteen monkeys, there exist firstborn monkeys which have low cortisol with compare to their younger siblings.

The another assumption is about the human firstborn children. The author says that the firstborn human infants also have the high level of cortisol with compare to their younger siblings. But this assumption is based on the experiment on eighteen monkeys. It seems ridicules. How can we conclude about the human infant’s cortisol level with an experiment on monkeys. For measuring the cortisol level of firstborn human infants, it is necessary to do the experiment on humans. There is also a mention about the stimulating situations of humans. How can author compare the stimulating situations of humans with monkeys? There may be several stimulating situations of humans.

There is also a mention about the level of cortisol of mother monkey during the pregnancy. But there is no evidence shown for level of cortisol between mother and her infant during pregnancy. The level of cortisol in infant monkey may be less than its mother. Also we can’t assume the level of cortisol of human mother by assumption of mother monkey.

Therefore, there are less evidences which supports the given assumptions of authors. The given observations and assumptions make the conclusion weak. If there are more evidences then the given conclusion may be true. But by observing given statement the conclusion does not seem true.