A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

Author presents a study of eighteen rhesus monkeys and their hormonal level in stimulating situations (such as encounter with an unfamiliar monkey). Firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol as compared with younger siblings. Similarly, study also shows that same behavior is recorded in humans too. Author concludes that there is a direct relation between the birth order and individual's level of stimulation. While this view may sound plausible at first, however, a closer review brings other possible interpretations of the experiment results, which definitely undermine author's explanations. To illustrate, internal factors like age of mother, father & infant monkey, genetic makeup of parents, external factors like diet of parents and infant monkey, psychological factors etc.

To begin with, study shows that in stimulating situations (such as encounter with unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkey produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, as do their younger siblings.Age can play an important role here. It is likely that hormonal level changes with the age and not the birth order. Humans are also believed to show difference in level of stimulation, which can also be a function of age. Nevertheless, there could be another explanation. It might be due to psychological factors. Firstborn infant monkey does not have any of his age around while younger siblings have their siblings, which make them more social. Therefore, they don't get shy away from meeting unfamiliar monkey and hence, lower hormonal level. On the contrary, opposite happens with firstborn.

Moreover, parents during their firstborn children are overprotective as parenthood is new to them. Firstborn children receives undivided attention of parents while the same cannot be said about the younger ones. This can have a psychological effects on children and hence, explains the lower stimulation level in younger ones when parent return after an absence.

Additionally, the study also cites that there is increased levels of cortisol in first-time mother monkeys during pregnancy. Linking this with increased level of stimulation is somewhat ambitious as this could be due to diet the mother monkey is taking and the environment around her. Similarly, there is nothing mentioned about the age. There could be a possibility the younger age of mother monkey and some food causes this increased levels of hormones.

In conclusion, the facts mentioned in the argument has other explanation mentioned and hence, the conclusion mentioned is unconvincing. One should also have a comprehensive study on these explanations, otherwise, one is left bewildered.