As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

The issue that as we rely more and more on technology, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that technology has helped human thinking achieve greater heights and will surely embellish human ability in the near future. Technology has acted as a way of conveyance to make our work more efficiently and focus more on bigger problems mankind is facing.

Let us just consider a day of a regular working individual, he/she goes by a transport and reaches office, sits in an air conditioned environment which protects him from the extreme weather conditions. Now imagine what would happen if there was no technological advancement and there was no transport, no electricity, no air conditioning. Can a individual think and work as efficiently as he/she is now? So, technology has just helped humans to increase its efficiency and enable a working environment.

Secondly, technology has enabled humans to focus on big problems and solve bigger issues and not bogged down by repetitive tasks. To illustrate, would it be possible to land on moon if there were no super computers to do the repetitive tasks of infinite calculations to propel a rocket? Similarly, technology has enabled us to discover various useful things and combing it with human thinking we have turned it into a valuable resource. Consider if we were not able to dig deep into the earth, we would not be able to discover coal, oil and other valuable resources. Human thinking ability made these otherwise dead plants and animals turned into a valuable resource and increase our efficiency.

On the contrary, there are for sure some observations of decreasing humans ability to memorize stuff, which some of us can relate to decreasing human ability. However, its just that we are nowadays focusing on more important advancements than remembering petty stuff. One should focus more on understanding than remembering things, as that is the one true evidence of human thinking ability.

In a nutshell, as we rely more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely ameliorate as this will increase our efficiency and focus on more bigger issues humanity will face and develop inventive and creative solutions.