A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

In a letter to the editor of a scientific journal, it is stated that birth order has an effect on an individual’s levels of stimulation. The author has come to this conclusion based on the undue assumptions that the firstborn infant of monkey produce more the hormone cortisol in a stimulating situation than their siblings as well as when monkey’s mother is pregnant for the first time, it has a higher level of cortisol than afterward. However, before the author’s contention can be properly evaluated, three assumptions must be examined.

first of all, the author prematurely assumes that because the firstborn monkey produces more cortisol than their younger sisters and brothers, this difference in cortisol will follow according to the birth order. It is possible that this difference in cortisol’s production exists only in the firstborn monkey and all other siblings make almost the same when they encounter with stimulation. If this scenario has merit, the conclusion drawn on the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the argument claims without warranted that the level of cortisol’s production is a good indicator of the level’s of stimulation. However, it might not be a case. Perhaps, when a mother is pregnant for the first time the amount of this hormone is significantly bigger than the next time pregnancy happens for some protection of a child, so the amount of the cortisol is higher in firstborn monkey and in the stimulating situation this factor plays a role to produce more hormone. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the argument presumes, without justification, that results that are provided through studying on eighteen rhesus monkeys make enough evidence. It is conceivable that these monkeys have a lot of dissimilarities to other animals or humans. Furthermore, there is a probability that these selected monkeys have some characteristics that are not common even among their species and these characteristics provide the clues for author conclusion. Therefore, if these possibilities are authentic, the deduction of the author will impugn.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stated now, is flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. if the author of the letter is able to provide more evidence and correct the three aforementioned assumptions, then it will be possible to fully assess the viability of the effect of birth order on the levels of the individual’s simulation.