A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more

chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of

Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans

eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called isoflavones, which have

been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider

eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

The argument claims that North American people should eat soy on a regular basis to combat and prevent diseases such as chronic fatigue and chronic depression. To justify this claim, a study has been cited which states that North Americans suffer from these diseases at a much higher rate than Asians do and that Asians eat an average of 20 grams of soy every day which is known to possess disease-preventing properties that North Americans don’t consume. This claim is based on assumptions and fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The scope and validity of the study is also not clear. For these reason, I find the argument unconvincing.

First, there is not much detail provided on the factors that were considered while carrying out the study. Whether the North Americans considered for the study all belonged to the same age group of were following a similar diet and lifestyle. If this was not the case then the numbers mentioned in the study that North Americans suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than people living in Asia is a bit exaggerated and not backed by any evidence. Without considering these points and providing elaborate details of the study, the claim is unsubstantiated by evidence.

Second, the argument readily claims that eating soy is the only reason because of which Asians do not encounter diseases while North Americans do. There are several factors that can be attributed to causing diseases such as genetics, environmental factors, and personal hygiene and so on. Had these factors been ruled out, the argument would have been considerably strengthened.

Finally, the argument unfairly infers that if North Americans add soy only to their daily diet it will help them in preventing these diseases. Maybe the North Americans consume something that is much healthier than soy. Furthermore, even if soy is considered to be helpful in preventing the diseases, there is no evidence that bolsters the claim that by eating it the diseases will be prevented. Without providing any case or example from the past that soy is beneficial to a person to avoid the diseases, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

The conclusion of the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. Had proper evidence and details been provided the argument and its claims would have been better reasoned.