"In many countries it is now possible to turn on the television and view government at work.

Watching these proceedings can help people understand the issues that affect their lives. The

more kinds of government proceedings---trials, debates, meetings, etc.---that are televised,

the more society will benefit."

I strongly agree with the fact that watching proceedings on the television can help many people understand the several issues that bring about a change to their lives. However, I disagree with the notion that the more kinds of governmental proceedings that are televised, the more our society will benefit no matter what the proceeding is related to. In some cases, televised proceedings can prove to be detrimental to the society as a whole.

Watching the televised governmental proceeding has an advantage over reading them in the newspaper or hearing about it on the radio even though these will be accurate. It gives a person an insight on the person’s body language or how the procedures take place in actual reality. An example that can be considered here is one in which these televised proceedings are broadcasted for people in the village areas to see. They can witness the perspective of how the government functions and the many factors they consider for the benefit of them and the society.

Nevertheless, the more such types of proceedings are televised they can cause a harmful result in some cases. Consider the example of a proceeding taking place which is focused on curbing the license of arms to curtail the growing act of terrorism in the country In case the government decides to act against stand that the people take, they can cause a backslash and start protesting on the roads since they are concerned for their safety and will go to any length to make sure that their demand is fulfilled. This is in turn harmful for the country and also reduces their long reputable standing in the world among other countries.

The second reason why I disagree with the statement is that if people watch their elected government members and leaders fighting during the proceeding, they will lose trust in them and worry about how the very people they elected will help secure their future.

In sum, televised proceedings do help people understand the very things that take place during one it should also be noted that televising more of such proceedings carry certain risks that should not be ignored.