In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

In my opinion, I do believe that beginners are more likely to make significant contributions than experts. However, I disagree with the author’s statement that this is likely in any field.

Important contributions are made by beginners in certain fields such as arts, music and science to name a few. If for example, a college student is really interested in the current MARS project by NASA where experiments are carried out to estimate whether the surface has suitable living conditions or not, the student can without prior experience build a rover to evaluate the same by reading publications related to the topic online.

Another example that can be considered is one of Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook. By only knowing how to code he developed an online yearbook before converting the same into a website where you can interact with your family or friends. He had no prior experience in this field and just started off as an amateur turning his idea into a multi-million dollar company which has gained a remarkable response and appreciated by all.

Nonetheless, for a beginner to make an important contribution in the field of business is somewhat unlikely. This is one area where a person must understand how the economy works, know about the various statistical methods and also about cost, revenue and stock market aspect. Coming into this field as a tyro, one has to learn about all this and gain some experience on how these important factors play their role and what influences their regular change.

Politics is also one field where one needs to understand how the government works, the rules of the institution and how to gain the mandate of the people. Majority of the people will not vote for a person who has recently entered into the field. They will trust someone who they have known for a long time and one who has prior experience and will meet their demands.

In sum, there are certain fields where a novice can make important contributions by brainstorming ideas and using creativity. But certain areas require that a person gain experience in order to make a significant impact.