Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Critical judgement of a task in any field does have little value unless it comes from an expert of that field. However, in my opinion this is true in some fields only.

Experts of a particular field have precise knowledge of the mechanics and processes that take place in that field. They are well aware of these facts and details unlike a layman does. Consider the example where most people search for movie reviews to decide whether or not they should watch that movie. In such a case would you believe a random person's view or trust a renowned film critic that has years of experience in the movie industry? Majority of the people will opt for the film critic as he will consider all the aspects of the movie and make a judgement.

Another reason because of which I disagree with the statement is one where you place a doctor in place of an engineer when constructing a dam. The doctor's inputs will be of no use as he/she is not aware of the process behind the construction and what all materials are required for it. In such a scenario, only expert opinion matters.

Nonetheless, there are certain fields where critical judgement of the work from someone who is not an expert should be not discredited. Progress can be made in these fields when you hear the viewpoints from several people and also understand their perspective as a whole. An example would be politics where, even though the politicians are experts in the field, listening to the demands and requirements of the citizens will do no harm. Their inputs will be valuable as it will help the politicians understand where they are lacking and what improvements can be made in order to benefit the society.

The area of art is also one in which someone can give their judgement on a certain art piece. Many people, even though they are not from this field, do have an artistic side and have that creativity that help in understanding art form in order to make a judgement.

In sum, critical judgements from an expert or not has value depending on the field for which it is being made. In some cases it can prove to be beneficial and in some that much.