A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that, people should spend less time online in order to improve their mental health and to be happier in their everyday life may seem reasonable at first glance. However, the evidence provided are mainly based on a survey and, in order to understand whether the thesis is correct, the author has to address some questions to better explain both the conditions in which the pool has been done and the results reached.

First, it is not clear the category of people that have been interviewed. The credibility of the results of a survey depends mostly on this aspect so it has to be clarified before accepting the thesis. As matter of fact, we have to better understand firstly whether these people are living in the same environment, if they have had some health problem lately and other small informations tha could dramtically affect the final results. Suppose, for example, that all the people interviewed are working for the same company and that their working scene is having more and more problems lately. Of course we would not be surprised that a lot of them are depressed and there would not be any relationship between their sadness and their use of the Internet.

In addition, in the short text are not provided any data about the percentage of people who spend online more the 30 minutes. Without having this crucial information it is difficult to evaluate whether the 20 percent of them is a significant number or if it can be just a casual one. We have to ask the author for this percentage because especially in the case it was low, it would not be relevant. In fact, the 20 percent of this quantity, which represents people who are sad and depressed could be just one or two people, that are not enough to support the whole thesis.

Furthermore, the author must be asked to analyze better how many time the 20 percent of the people who have reported to have spent more than 30 hours online have been sad or down. Without having this information it is impossible and premature to talk about depression since it is common to feel bad sometimes and it should not be considered a desease.

In conclusion, even if the argument provided by the author is reasonable to substain, he has to answer to some question in order to provide further supporting evidence. First, he needs to clarifiy the population that has been interviewed in order to make understandable whether the results provided by the survey are general or just related to the population that has been analyzed. In addition he must be asked to provided data about the percentage of people who spend more than 30 hours online since this information would help to make more clear whether depression is a common phenomena or not. To conclude he have to specify the meaning of "at least three time" in order to make more understandable whether the people interviewed are affected by serious depression or just by occasional sadness.