A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument contends that use of salicylates, members of the same chemical family as

aspirin can be used for treating headaches. The author further states that it has been

proved from the study involving the people of are suffering from headaches and are residing

in Mentia. Based on the results from the study of people of Mentia, author asserts

salicylates can be used as flavor additives for food which in turn will help in

curing the headaches of people.

Firstly, the arguments asserts that Salicylates, a medicine can used as medicine and is

an alternative for Aspirin. But there is mention of the difference in the effectiveness

of Salicylates and no comparison has been made. There should be an experiment involving

a set of people who should be given both Salicylates and Aspirin and compare the effectiveness

on parameters of efficacy of both the medicines. There may be case that Salicylates may

not be effective for people of certain age. So, the author should explain the difference

between both the medicines in detail.

Secondly, the argument has not mentioned whether there is any side effects for Salicylates

compared to Aspirin. There may be a case that there may be more side effects of Salicylates

compared to Apsirin. Also, the author has not mentioned the number of people being tested

for proving the efficacy of Salicylates. It may be the case that the study has results based

on only 20 people of Mentia. In that case, the result that Salicylates is effective is invalid.

Finally, the author contends that Salicylates should added as preservative in foods but

there may be a fact that not many people like Salicylates being added. Though, Salicylates

can be used for curing headaches. There may be a case that a person may not consume food

which contains Salicylates because he is not having any headache. That means even if the

Salicylates proved to be effective, it should be not be added in all the foods because

some people may not like the food containing Salicylates because it may cause side effects

for them. Just because Salicylates is used for for curing headaches does not mean it

should be added in all the foods.

In conclusion, the author should show more details regarding the efficacy of Salicylates regarding the

number of people being tested. The argument should also mention the exact difference

between the efficacy of both Aspirin and Salicylates and side effects of both. It should

further decide adding Salicylates in foods is really helpful for people based on the poll

of all the people of Mentia. If the above points are taken into consideration, then the

argument will become valid.