A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions reagarding a twenty-year research that concluded upon the existance of correlation between the consumption of salicylates by the population and the drop in headaches reported. Taken as whole, these assumptions, if not true, seriously undermine the prediction power of such research.

Firstly, the argument fails in provide detailed information on the abrangece of the conducted research. For one, it could be argueed if the proportion of the participants fo the study who are used to consume preservated foods is big enough to make salicytates a reasonable influencing factor. Moreover, even if the research covered many inveterate consumers of salicylates, no information was provided on the representative of this consumers in the overall population. Without such information, the prediction made on the trend of the reported headaches cases made just considering the results of the mentioned research is not scientificly cogent.

The argument still leaves some unanswered questions. For example, no evidences were provided to discard other factors that could be influenced the drop of the number of the reported headaches. For example, better eating and drinking habits, as well as the practice of sports, are some well-recognized factors that could greatly influence positively the overall population healthy preventing headaches. Furthermore, the gender pattern of the participants could also influentiate its results, as women are soundly used to have more headaches due to its menstrual cycle.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the use of salicylates as flavour additives for foods would result in aa extra decline in the number of reported headaches. However, no evidence were presented supporting that a growth in the consumption of salicylates would have a linear impact on reduction of people's headaches. Indeed, more details should be provided on the reponse pattern over the headaches occurrence as result of incremental amounts of salicylates consumed.

To sum up, the argument holds its basis on several unproven assumptions that fails to make a convincing case that the prediction made by healthy experts on the residents of Mentia could be truested.