A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The argument is about the health effect of Salicylates on headache and the usage of it as flavor additives for foods. It is said that Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, and it has a medical treatment. In one research in Mentia, the researcher has found that there are relationships between the rise in the commercial use of Salicylates and a steady decline in the headache of participants. Therefore, companies tend to use it as preservatives on foods. This argument has some weaknesses and unanswered questions that I will discuss.

In this argument, the effect of Salicylate has been only checked in one city with an unclear number of people. There are no valid statistical figures for the number of people who participated in this research. The writer has failed to provide statistical figures which show that the effect of Salicylates on headache.

In addition to this, in this argument, only the benefits of Salicylates have been brought. How the researchers can ensure that the disadvantages of Salicylates do not outweigh the advantages? The overuse of Salicylates may harm the other parts of the body. In this argument, only headache treatment of Salicylates has been considered.

It is said that there is a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of Salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. Therefore, companies have decided to use them as flavor additives for foods. There no evidence about the dose of Salicylates in foods. How much of them on food does not have any problem for people’s body? How do the researchers know that Salicylates have the same positive effect on people?

Also, there is no ideas or comments of doctors about the effect of Salicylates on headache. Do doctors confirm the effect of Salicylates? There is no evidence about the confirmation of doctors about Salicylates. So, for the use of Salicylates the health center should have enough supervision.

The writer in order to strengthen his argument has to answer all the questions mentioned above.