In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is said that the officials of Prunty country for the improvement of highway safety have decreased the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour. But the project has failed, and they want to follow the same driving rules implemented in Butler country. This argument has some weakness and some positive point that I will discuss them.

On the one hand, the officials of Prunty country only rely on reducing the speed limit on highways. They did not consider other important factors that can interfere in the reduction of road accidents. For example, how did they want to control drivers to respect the new speed limit? They should put some speed cameras for controlling driving offenders. Also, they should add some speed bumps or road bends on the highways in order to reduce the speed of cars. Additionally, they must introduce some strict punishments for people in order to control them, including smalls fines, license suspension, and driving courses. Moreover, they failed to provide reliable statistical figures about the number of accidents. How they know that the reduction of speed limit did not have any effect on the reduction of accidents.

On the other hand, in the argument, we can see that the Butler County had better performance for the reduction of accidents, including increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. But also, there is no evidence or accurate figure about the number of accidents in this country. However, the solutions implemented in this country can be good choices.

In conclusion, I believe that reducing the speed limit is one of the factors of the reduction of accidents and officials should perform it alongside other factors mentioned above.