A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies has just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavour additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predicts of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The above article introduces the usefulness of salicylates in dealing with headaches and its wild presence in foods production. Therefore, the food-processing companies’ inclination to use salicylates as flavour additives makes health experts conclude that residents in Mentia would suffer less headaches in the future. However, this conclusion is subject to the answer of three staple questions. Namely, the reliability of previous study, the causality between salicylates intake and headache reduction, and the mechanism of salicylates.

The first question needs to be asked is that whether the conclusion drawn from the twenty-year study is reliable. There are two issues remaining to be dubious about that study. First and foremost, it is unknown that whether the participants of the previous study can be representative of the whole population in Mentia. A negative answer to that question implies that the study can be biased. For example, if people suffering from serious headaches are more inclined to participate the study, then the extent of headaches in Mentia can be largely exaggerated. The second issue about that study is that the level of headaches reported by participants can be ambiguous. Without explicit standard of various levels of headaches, people’s description can be considerably subjective, and therefore the data gathered from this process can be chaotic.

The second question should be asked is whether it is the use of salicylates directly causes the reduce of headaches or is there any other elements confound this process. Since the study only manages to show a negative correlation between the use of salicylates and the level of headaches, this can be merely a coincidence. There might be other elements during that period of twenty years that leads to the reduction of headaches. The improvement of medical techniques, for instance.

The last question needs to address is the mechanism behind salicylates. The above report fails to show that the effect of salicylates is additive, which means the effect of salicylates will growth

with the quantity used without a limit. However, it is probable that further use of salicylates becomes useless up to a certain quantity. In this case, the increasing use of salicylates as foods flavour additives will not further help reduce the level of headaches.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that three questions need to be addressed before the conclusion of headache levels will be further reduced can be drawn. Experts should first scrutinise the validity of the twenty-year study to make sure participants are representative, and the headache reporting system is accurate. Then, they should legitimate the transition from correlation to causation between the increasing use of salicylates and the reduction of headaches. Lastly, they need to look into the mechanism of salicylates to make sure its effect is additive.