The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Alongside the development of the Internet and computers, there has been excessive discussions about the potential threats of misuse of machines. Especially, the power of artificial intelligence makes people feel increasingly insecure and questioning whether it will extinct human in the near future. Some people claim that, as a tool developed by humans, machines can never be superior to human minds. While others dismiss the logic of this reasoning and suggest that it is probable that machines indeed overbeat human minds in various aspects. This essay is going to argue that, to a large extent, human minds will incessantly be superior to machines because of our ability to define problems and make sensible judgements.

Admittedly, there in effect exist certain occasions when machines are capable of achieving a goal or solve a problem more efficiently and more accurately. This phenomenon is not surprising because two main characteristics of machines are indefatigability and small probability of making mistakes. Therefore, when given a well-defined question, such as repeatedly rising an object a million times, or invert a high dimensional matrix, which would cost humans several years, machines can accomplish it instantaneously.

However, this previous-mentioned privilege of machines is built upon an indispensable assumption, that is the task is well-defined. Conversely, when facing a vague task such that it requires people to discover questions and decide the next-step action, machines are not compatible with human minds. One of the most appropriate cases that machines cannot easily adopt can be scientific research, where the most crucial step is deemed as finding a question. Machines are impossible to achieve this because it demands subtle human sensitivity and human interactions. Hence, with this respect, it seems plausible to argue that machines can only be used as a tool to safe human labours, but cannot be superior to human minds.

Last but not least, machines cannot determine whether the results they get from their built-in algorithms are sensible or not. For instance, the machine learning algorithm 'neural network’ is particularly popular during the past decade since it has been invented. The biggest advantage of it is that machines can learn to mimic the way humans making decisions, and thus help people to detect the most relevant elements which affect a certain outcome. Nevertheless,

ironically, the set of elements chosen by this algorithm are often ridiculous. The machine might suggest that the most relevant contribution to lung cancer is whether people bring a lighter with them instead of smoking. The reason behind that is because the machine can only make judgements based on data, while it lacks the so called ‘soft knowledge’ which is the distinguished figure of human beings to connect different aspects, such as emotions, culture and social politics. Thus, all the results received from machines remains to be final-assessed by human minds, and that gives strong reason to believe that machines cannot be superior to humans.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that, to a large extent, machines cannot be superior to human minds. Although machines can accomplish tasks more efficient and accurate when facing a well-defined problem, they can neither discover problems itself nor judge the results they get using social and cultural knowledge. Further investigations could be conducted on the way to make machines better assistants of human beings. After all, machines indeed help to improve the quality of human lives.