In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

During the exploration of science, many inquiry fields is uncovered. Newly discovered field provides considerable chance to everyone and equal to both beginner and expert. Someone may agree that beginners are more likely to make important contributions than those experts. However, I do not agree about this statement. Everyone in the inquiry field is able to make important contributions and opportunity is equal to everyone.

First of all, both beginners and experts are new to the inquiry field, everyone is on the same start line so there is no conception of expert and everyone performed as beginner. Both beginners and experts have equal chance to discover and make contributions. However, when experts get to known the structure of the inquiry field, they will able to make up a plan and help themselves sole the problem and finally make important contributions. Comparing with those experts, beginners is keep trying any possibilities and hardly make significant achievements.

What’s more, maybe someone will argue that experts in new field may trapped by experience in their own field while beginners can take advantage of their imagination. However, experts are able to find out the similarities between the unknown field and the field they researching while beginners are just wandering without directions and try the possible solutions to work out the problem. With the knowledge in discovered fields, experts are more likely to make important contributions. just like rolling a dice and the possibility is extremely low.

Last but not least, maybe beginners sometimes will provide some useful ideas, but before these ideas, this method is just like rolling a dice and the possibility is extremely low. Since thousands of ideas was thought by beginners, there may only few possible and can make great contributions. Once one of their ideas is able to solve the problem, their significant contributions will be focused. Comparing with those experts instructed with the knowledge in their field, beginners is just bumbling around and almost impossible to make important contribution.

In any inquiry field, the opportunity is equal to everyone no matter you are beginner or expert. To make significant contributions, everyone should take the chance and compare unknown field and known field to find out similarities to solve the problem of the field. With hard working and directions, everyone is able to make important contribution in inquiry field.