Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that with the new use of salicylates as preservatives a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia can be expected. To bolster this claim author has put forward some of the findings of their recent twenty-year study. One of them is rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches. Second one is that salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to tread headaches. However, author has based his conclusion on some of the unwarranted assumptions which if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the argument.

Firstly, their is no mention of the authenticity of the survey. It is not clearly stated that how many people have been included in the survey or people of which region have been included in the survey. For instance, there might have been 100,000 people in a city and the study was conducted only on 100 individuals. Since body and health difers from person to person, generalization shouldn't be drawn from the study conducted only small subset of entire population. Even if their studied included all the people from a particular, still it couldn't be used to generalize the effect of salicylates on people throught world as people physical traits may change from place to place. Hence, if authenticity of survey is not clearly stated it will significantly weaken the argument.

Secondly, the author correlates the rise in the commercial use of salicylates to the steady decline in the average number of headaches. However, salicylates is not only deciding factor of one's headache. It is possible that the people's life style has changed over the course of 20 years dramatically which contributed to their overall good health. For instance, 20 years ago the city might have been extremely polluted because of which headache inducing pollutants might have been at peak level. Because of this headache causing pollutants people might have suffered from frequent headaches. Over the course of 20 years stringent measures were taken to reduce the pollution which in turn reduced headache causing pollutants and headaches. Hence, if this correaltion between salicylates and decline in headaches is not supported with concrete evidence will weaken the argument.

Finally, the author assumes that mixing the salicylates as flavor additives for food won't have any long term effects. It is stated that it was only recently the food companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for food. If companies start to sell saliyclates as flavor additives it may lead to excessive consumption of salicylates whose long term effects are unknown. Hence, the author needs to provide some strong research evidence which will reveal the long term effects of the salicylates.

In the conclusion, the author's claim of salicylates contributed to steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by people can only be verified when author is able to provide some concrete evidence to prove above stated assumptions.