The Director of student housing argues for construction of new attractive dormitories for students in Buckingham college but does not enough persuasive evidence to substantiate his claim.

Director is of the view that Buckingham’s enrollment is growing and is going to double in coming fifty years. Considering this the existing dormitories will be insufficient in coming years. However, if this trend is likely to continue is like this is a matter which need to be given a thought. Fifty years is a long time and a lot of changes can happen in these years. The enrollment in a college is dependent upon a number of factors including the ranking, reputation of professors, research environment, job placement scenario etc. These factors are likely to change in coming years affecting the enrollment rate at5 Buckingham. If a new college opens is town with better ranking, faculties etc. the enrollment at Buckingham will probably go down, rendering the dormitories useless.

Director further assumes that the students will prefer dormitories over apartments outside university. However, no argument is provided to support this claim. Students may prefer outside university apartments as they provide more freedom, Easy travelling accessibility etc. A proper representative survey should be conducted to draw any conclusion regarding their preference.

Director goes on to say that rent of apartments outside university are increasing, however if this likely to continue in future is imponderable. Rent prices are related to the property prices which can fluctuate a lot in a short period of time. Moreover id the rent prices are high students can rent an apartment in suburbs or share the apartment so that the burden of rent is distributed.

In the final argument author claims that attractive dormitories will attract more students at Buckingham. Conclusion seems naïve as the enrollment rate is dependent upon a lot of factors and attractiveness of dormitory, at best, would be secondary criterion to choose a university.

Conclusively, director of housing does not provide substantial cogent arguments to support his recommendation. With each enumerated argument being potentially unwarranted, the conclusion which is based upon this argument will not be tenable.