The author of the article argues that opening of a café in Monarch book store would attract more customers. However, this conclusion is based upon certain assumption which if unwarranted would render the forecast worthless.

It is proposed that children book section should be discontinued to make space for Café. To support his claim author cites a recent national survey which indicates decline in percentage of population under the age of ten. Since the data conveys that percentage of population under ten is decreasing it may be plausible that their absolute numbers are increasing. Also it might be possible that the percentage of children reading books have grown, increasing the potential customer base. The cited survey is at national level, it does not warrant that the local children population is changing in the same direction. We need more information about the change in demography at the local level to draw any conclusion.

Moreover parents accompany children when they shop for books, discontinuing the children section would diminish this existing customer pool of parents. We need to estimate the potential loss of customers by discontinuing children’s books and the gain through opening up a café to make any informed decision.

Regal books opened up a café in their store last year but the effects of this step on customer base are not mentioned. Even if the customer base of Regal books increased, it does not warrant a similar effect for Monarch books. The situation in Regal Books could have been very different. They might had additional space allowing them to open café without discontinuing any section of books. Their customer base can be very different, plausibly comprising more of adults, who like to prefer coffee while reading.

Conclusively, author’s recommendation lacks persuasive arguments to support his claim. With each enumerated argument being potentially unwarranted, the conclusion which is based upon this inconclusive argument will not be tenable.