"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twic

The author of presented article argues that Adams reality is superior to Fitch Reality but does not provide substantial persuasive evidence to support his claim. His conclusion is based on certain underlying assumptions which if unwarranted can affect it’s validity.

The author conveys that Adams Realty has more agents than Fitch Realty to support his claim. However, more number of agents does not substantiate that services provided by Adams are better than Fitch Realty. If the agents at Fitch Realty have better skills and are more effective and efficient, author’s claim would be fallacious. The author also cites that most of the agents at Fitch work part time but this can make the agents more efficient as they would be having bigger social circles helping them to sell the homes quickly.

Furthermore, revenue of both firms is compared. The revenue of Adams reality is twice that of Fitch. It is possible that the additional revenue if Adams reality is coming from other services such as construction, renting which Fitch realty may not be involved in. Author provides no in formation regarding the set of services provided by both firms. Moreover higher revenues and higher average selling price does imply that per home profit for Adams is higher as compared to Fitch. Higher per house selling price may mean that Adams Reality is only involved in dealing of high value houses. It does not substantiate the services provided by Adams are superior as compared to Fitch.

Author maintains that Adams Reality sells home in lesser time than Fitch Realty by citing his personal experience in which he was able to sell his home faster with Adams Realty last year as compared to the one with Fitch Realty ten years ago. However is not rational to compare these two events which are separated by nearly a decade. The real state market condition may have been very different to what it was ten years ago. Also it is possible that home sold last year was in much better condition than that sold ten years ago. Moreover author provides no information regarding the profitability of his deal with the two real estate firms, which would have been a better indicator of the performance of the two real state firms.

Conclusively, author’s claim lacks the persuasive evidence to support his claim of the superiority of Adams Realty over Fitch Realty. With each enumerated argument being potentially unwarranted, the conclusion which is based on such a inconclusive argument is not defensible.