The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Author argues that skateboarding is the main reason behind drop in business in central plaza but does not provide enough evidence to strengthen his claim. The only evidence supporting his/her claim is the opinion of the store owners. Although skateboarding can plausibly be one of the reasons of loss in business other factors are probably neglected. The author doesn’t provide any information on the state of the regional economy which can have a profound impact on store sales. Like in 2008 financial crisis people had to cut down on their spending leading to loss in revenues of store owners. High inflation, unemployment rates and other macroeconomic factors can also affect the business. Until a causal relationship between skateboarding and loss in business is established the effect of prohibition of skateboarding on business can’t be ascertained.

In the second argument author claims skateboarding is the cause of increased vandalism and litter. As discussed in the first paragraph in case of a deteriorating economy, the plaza administration can cut down on janitorial services. For instance if the plaza was cleaned daily before and weekly now it will lead to increase in litter in Plaza. The author does not provide any information to support that skateboarders are causing vandalism. A new gang may have come in neighbourhood who are involved in vandalism. We need to know how the neighbourhood has changed to draw upon any conclusions. Also even if the skateboarders are littering and vandalising the place there is no information that vandalism and littering are causing the drop in business. A representative survey can be conducted to collect his information.

In conclusion, the author does not provide persuasive evidence to support his recommendation. There is no evidence that skateboarding is the cause of loss in business and prohibiting it will lead to improvement of business